Large Scale Central

New Shelf Layout is Underway

My new shelf layout is underway, it is 22ft. long and from 2-3ft. wide as the pics will show. I will be a switching scene of the old Ft. Worth Stock Yards back in the late 1940’s to the early 1950’s. I will be running mainly diesel engines, but I do have two LGB Moguls that have been redone to my railroad theme, the Fort Worth & South-Western, which I may use at times. All power will have RailPro installed and will be battery powered, this way I have left myself an opening for outside running if I want to do that at another time, or run on other outdoor layouts, etc. I plan to highly detail the layout as many of you know I’m a modeler first and a runner second. I have plenty of room outside for a layout (2 acres), but have decided at this point in my life to stay inside and work in the A/C and Heated shop, I have plenty of work that I can do outside, having to keep up 2 acres will take most of your idol time around here. I don’t plan for this to be a work around clock project, but it won’t be put on the back burner either.

trainman

I’ll be following this…keep us updated, fine start.

Only 22 foot long? Is that big enough for a Texan? I predict you’ll be breaking through the walls on either end some day!

Following. Looking forward to the details!

Looks like this will be an interesting layout. Looking forward to see the detailing. Thanks for sharing this journey, John.

Great start John. I’ll be watching too!

time to start building some facades and flats along the wall.

also looks like you got room to expand with sufficient creativity.