Large Scale Central

USA Trains Flared Radiator Addition From HSTRAINS

I guess I’ll start out by saying this;

When I purchased my first SD70 from USA trains some years back, I really didn’t like the fact that it didn’t look totally prototypical, at least to my eyes. Now I’m not an expert on the SD70 but when I had the opportunity at one time to board a Montana Rail Link unit in Helena, Montana for viewing, I did notice the massive flared radiator system. After seeing this and later purchasing my first SD70, the first thing I noticed was that this radiator system was missing on that model, as well as the 2nd model that we obtained. I started trying to design my own but ran into several problems trying to accomplish this, so I put the project off a few times and I guess it turned out to be a good decision because these other options became available.

With the search bar above, I looked on this site to see if anyone had ever posted any information about this issue or if anybody had developed this product. I noticed one post where you could download information for printing but I really didn’t notice anyone who made the actual product. It is possible I could have missed it somewhere, as I have done before but since I didn’t run into it anywhere, I decided to go ahead and post this information anyway.

One night I happened to be searching the internet for USA Trains, SD70 locomotive information and related parts and ran across a You Tube video from Jonathan Huse at HSTRAINS.

In the video he shows the 3D printed flared radiator system that he makes for the USA Trains SD70, along with a more correct cab, (depending on the unit you have) horns and some parts for Aristocraft Dash 9’s and other locomotives made by both companies.

I puchased two of the flared radiators to install on my UP/CNW and UP/MP heritage units. Although paint match was a little bit of a struggle for me, I think they came out beautiful and made the locomotives look more prototypical.